OTM Pick 5 Results

Well, that's a wrap. Although no one has ever been very good at this game, this year we plumbed new depths of inability. Rather than having an actual winner, we kind of have a least loser, since everyone tied at zero points and the final tiebreaker, timestamp of entry, means that the earliest submission gets the nod. So, congrats Rick Bentsen on being the smallest loser!

To refresh everyone's memories, here are the names submitted:

Name Score Player 1 Player 2 Player 3 Player 4 Player 5
Rick Bentsen 0 Kyle Schwarber Max Scherzer Joe Kelly Chris Bassitt Daniel Bard
TK94 0 Seiya Suzuki Chris Taylor Steven Matz Sean Manaea Adam Ottavino
pvander 0 Pablo Lopez Javier Baez Steven Matz Aaron Loup Yimi Garcia
GOAT91 0 Chris Taylor Hansel Robles Steven Matz Sean Manaea Craig Kimbrel
Good_Better_Betts 0 Ryan Tepera Javier Baez Joe Kelly Jose Iglesias Steven Matz
Ryan1967 0 Frankie Montas Kris Bryant Marcus Semien Raisel Iglesias Jon Gray
GoSoxGOGO 0 Jose Iglesias Jorge Soler Starling Marte Jacoby Jones Domingo Acevedo
Horace Fury 0 Pablo Lopez Brad Boxberger Andrew Chafin Hansel Robles Jose Iglesias
Jacklitterst 0 Chris Taylor Kyle Schwarber Corey Knebel Hansel Robles Jon Gray
Fromalabama II 0 Keone Kela Marcus Stroman Kendall Graveman Brad Hand Kevin Gausman
grnmtsoxfan 0 Matthew Boyd Dellin Betances Mitch Moreland Jake Marisnik Jeurys Familia

It's probably worth mentioning, for those who enjoy controversy and disputed victories, that there are a few things that could make some of the people who lost claim victory even though the rules are clear. First, Hansel Robles was signed to a minor league contract, and may eventually make it back to the big league team, so despite not being worth a point for this game (which clearly specified that being on the major league roster at our deadline was required), some people may feel that getting that close to a point is a more worthy tie-breaker than timestamp. Likewise, the possibility of one or more names up there being signed or traded to the Sox before opening day is higher than zero percent, and if it happens some grumbling might ensue about the deadline and how it got extended (from the beginning of spring training to Mar 25) and should have been extended all the way to the Apr 7. Well, enjoy disputing any such putative victories by moving those goalposts, if you like.

Finally, here's an updated recap of all the winners.

2021 Pick 5 Winner: No Winner/No Points Scored (honorable mention to Rick Bentsen 0 - timestamp tiebreaker)

2020 Pick 5 Winner: A Random Human (1)

2019 Pick 5 Winners: Chris Sanford, crossedsabres8, Dabageldond, Good_Better_Betts, mattowens04, ty42198, and xii_dex (2)

2018 Pick 5 Winners: Chelista625, Bogey2Short, SirBenjaminPK, Ricochet!, crossedsabres8, REDSOXFAN1973, timtime321 (2)

2017 Pick 5 Winners: sguglie2, titio1300, On to Lansdowne Street (1)

2016 Pick 5 Winner: Rick Bentsen (2)

2015 Pick 5 Winner: RogueNine (2)

2014 Pick 5 Winner: .406 (2)

2013 Pick 5: Pick 5 Writer’s Strike

2012 Pick 5 Winner: aubatron2011 (2)

2011 Pick 5 Winner: mg050369 (2)