clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Red Sox vs. Twins lineups: Martín Pérez looks to straighten it out

While the Sox look to claim the Chairman’s Cup, for whatever it’s worth.

Tampa Bay Rays v Boston Red Sox
Get it back!
Photo by Billie Weiss/Boston Red Sox/Getty Images

The Red Sox and Twins near the end of their preseason Chairman’s Cup “competition” tonight at 6:05 p.m. as Martín Pérez takes on Randy Dobnak. This one will be broadcast on NESN+.

Last time out, Pérez got knocked around to the tune of five runs over five innings, but the lefty has been in high spirits regarding 2021, per’s Ian Browne. Specifically, he’s working on getting ready to physically compete, via a new routine. He says he’s

“Just trying to stretch my body a lot, work on my legs and my core. Just [in order to] get here and be ready to compete,” Pérez said. “Last year was a short season for us and this year is going to be a long season. The way we have to prepare is different. We’re not going to play 60 games. We’re going to play 162. Just find my way and I think I’m getting there.”

Following Pérez today will be Josh Taylor, Matt Barnes, Darwinzon Hernández and Kevin McCarthy.

J.D. Martinez, Alex Verdugo and Xander Bogaerts will sit as the Sox look to go to 4-1-1 against the Twins this spring. If the lead holds, the Sox will cut Minnesota’s overall Chairman’s Cup lead to 14-13-2, and the Sox will have won something before April. But also not, because it’s fake, hence the tie.

This being another night game, vampires could have been an issue, but the Twins start Kyle Garlick in right, so we can drive a stake through that one. That kind of day, folks.

Twins lineup

1. Mitch Garver (R) C

2. Josh Donaldson (R) 3B

3. Nelson Cruz (R) DH

4. Kyle Garlick (R) RF

5. Miguel Sanó (R) 1B

6. Byron Buxton (R) CF

7. Andrelton Simmons (R) SS

8. Luis Arráez (L) 2B

9. Jake Cave (L) LF

SP: Randy Dobnak, RHP

Red Sox lineup

1. Kiké Hernández (R) DH

2. Jarren Duran (L) CF

3. Hunter Renfroe (R) RF

4. Rafael Devers (L) 3B

5. Christian Vázquez (R) C

6. Marwin Gonzalez (S) LF

7. Bobby Dalbec (R) 1B

8. Christian Arroyo (R) SS

9. Michael Chavis (R) 2B

SP: Martín Pérez, LHP