clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Red Sox at Braves Lineups: Back under the lights

The first night game of 2020.

Baltimore Orioles v Boston Red Sox Photo by Billie Weiss/Boston Red Sox/Getty Images

When I was in Little League, there were two different leagues in my hometown in Haverhill. I played in Tri-Star, which it’s probably not fair to call the poor league but it certainly wasn’t the rich league. We got to compete for the Little League World Series, which the other league didn’t but that was about the only advantage. We didn’t really play too much against the other league, but every once in a while there was some little league action and then in All-Stars over the summer (humble brag) we had some games as well. It was always cool playing that other league as long as it was on their field. You see, they were the boujee league, and they had real dugouts instead of just benches.

More importantly, they had lights! Being able to play at night was the coolest thing in the world, and not something I got to experience in any other sport to that point in my life. Sitting in a dugout at 8:00 at night with the lights on next to the Building 19 (RIP) was surreal for a 12 year old. To this day, hitting a home run (humble brag again) under the lights is a top five achievement in my life.

Anyway, I say all this because this is the first game the Red Sox will play under the lights this year. It’s probably not as cool to them as it was to me. Ryan Weber starts and the lineup features Tzu-Wei Lin returning from injury as well as Andrew Benintendi, Michael Chavis, both Kevin Plawecki and Jonathan Lucroy, and Jarren Duran. They’ll be going up against Felix Hernández in a Braves uniform, which will be weird. First pitch is at 6:05 PM ET, and NESN has the broadcast.

The full lineups are below:

3/9; at Braves

Lineup Spot Red Sox Braves
Lineup Spot Red Sox Braves
1 Andrew Benintendi, LF Ender Inciarte, CF
2 Tzu-Wei Lin, SS Ozzie Albies, 2B
3 Kevin Plawecki, C Freddie Freeman, 1B
4 Michael Chavis, 1B Marcell Ozuna, LF
5 Jonathan Lucroy, DH Nick Markakis, RF
6 José Peraza, 2B Austin Riley, 3B
7 Marco Hernández, 3B Dansby Swanson, SS
8 Rusney Castillo, RF Charlie Culberson, DH
9 Jarren Duran, CF Shea Langeliers, C
SP Ryan Weber, RHP Felix Hernández, RHP