clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Red Sox at Twins Lineups: Rafael Devers is back

He had a delayed start to spring, but he gets his first game action on Friday.

Baltimore Orioles v Boston Red Sox Photo by Billie Weiss/Boston Red Sox/Getty Images

The Red Sox are back in action on Friday with a second consecutive TV broadcast-less game, which is unfortunate for us. They take on the cross-town rival Twins in Minnesota’s park down in Fort Myers, with first pitch coming at 1:05 PM ET. You can listen to this one on the radio, though, with 850 AM WEEI calling this one.

Friday’s game is a fun one for Red Sox fans as it marks the return of Rafael Devers in the lineup for his first Grapefruit League action. Devers was not delayed by injury, but instead he was home for the birth of his daughter, which set him back about a week. That’s a fair reason to miss some time, I think. He’ll be in the second slot behind Tzu-Wei Lin, and he’ll at the hot corner. The whole infield is interesting, actually, with Lin in the leadoff spot at shortstop and then Michael Chavis at first base and José Peraza at second. This will be the first game Chavis and Peraza play with something close to the A-Squad. There’s also Kevin Plawecki behind the plate, who may have a bit of a chip on his shoulder with the media hype building for Jonathan Lucroy, as well as Jarren Duran in center field. César Puello, who was late to camp due to visa issues, also makes his first appearance of the spring with a start in right field.

On the mound is Kyle Hart, who is on of the many arms competing for what is now two open slots in the rotation. Hart was added to the 40-man this past winter and has no major-league experience, which would seemingly hold him back, but the race is wide open enough that he could sneak in there.

The full lineups are below:

2/28, at Twins

Lineup Spot Red Sox Twins
Lineup Spot Red Sox Twins
1 Tzu-Wei Lin, SS Max Kepler, RF
2 Rafael Devers, 3B Josh Donaldson, DH
3 J.D. Martinez, DH Mitch Garver, C
4 Michael Chavis, 1B Miguel Sanó, 1B
5 José Peraza, 2B Eddie Rosario, LF
6 Kevin Plawecki, C Luis Arráez, 2B
7 Rusney Castillo, LF Willians Astudillo, 3B
8 César Puello, RF LaMonte Wade Jr., CF
9 Jarren Duran, CF Drew Maggi, SS
SP Kyle Hart, LHP Homer Bailey, RHP