clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLB Roundup 11/4: Gold Glove winners announced

There were no Red Sox winners.

Los Angeles Angels v Colorado Rockies Photo by Justin Edmonds/Getty Images

Award season got started on Tuesday night, with the Gold Glove winners being officially announced by the league and Rawlings. Finalists had been announced a few weeks ago while the postseason was still going on, and there were no Red Sox players on that list. As a result, there wasn’t much anticipation for these awards in Boston since we knew nobody would win from this team. Before I do get to the winners, though, I do just want to address one point that I saw from a lot of people. There were a fair number of complaints that they decided to do this on Election Night, with people citing this as another poor example of the league failing to market its product. I am extremely willing to criticize MLB for their marketing issues pretty much all the time, because I do agree it’s a major issue for the overall popularity of the sport. That said, I don’t see it here. Nobody ever cares about the Gold Glove announcement. It’s not like it’s usually some big event that got overshadowed. I don’t really see much of an issue here.

Anyway, that’s my opinion on that which no one asked for. With that out of the way, here are the winners

American League

C: Roberto Pérez, CLE (2nd career GG)

1B: Evan White, SEA (1st)

2B: César Hernández, CLE (1st)

3B: Isiah Kiner-Falefa, TEX (1st)

SS: J.P. Crawford, SEA (1st)

LF: Alex Gordon, KC (8th)

CF: Luis Robert, CHW (1st)

RF: Joey Gallo, TEX (1st)

P: Griffin Canning, LAA (1st)

National League

C: Tucker Barnhart, CIN (2nd)

1B: Anthony Rizzo, CHC (4th)

2B: Kolten Wong, STL (2nd)

3B: Nolan Arenado, COL (8th)

SS: Javier Báez, CHC (1st)

LF: Tyler O’Niell, STL (1st)

CF: Trent Grisham, SD (1st)

RF: Mookie Betts, LAD (5th)

P: Max Fried, ATL (1st)

I really don’t have a whole lot to add to these. I think the ones that stand out the most to me are the two third base winners. In the American League, Kiner-Falefa won in his first year as a full-time infielder. Prior to 2020 he had spent a significant amount of time behind the plate. Over in the National League, Nolan Arenado won his eighth straight, which happens to be every year of his career. Only Ichiro had a longer streak (10 straight) to start a career. I would also point out that both second base winners are available in free agency.