clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Red Sox vs. Orioles lineups: Eduardo Rodriguez takes on his old team

The Oriole traded Eduardo Rodriguez less than a year ago. Tonight, he's got a chance to make them regret that decision.

Bob DeChiara-USA TODAY Sports

Eduardo Rodriguez' third major league start will come against the team that traded him, as the Red Sox aim for their longest winning streak of the season against the Baltimore Orioles.

Dustin Pedroia - 2B Manny Machado - 3B
Brock Holt - RF Delmon Young - RF
Hanley Ramirez - LF Adam Jones - CF
David Ortiz - DH Matt Wieters - C
Mike Napoli - 1B Chris Davis - DH
Pablo Sandoval - 3B Nolan Reimold - LF
Xander Bogaerts - SS Steve Pearce - 1B
Mookie Betts - CF J.J. Hardy - SS
Blake Swihart - C Ryan Flaherty - 2B
Eduardo Rodriguez - LHP Miguel Gonzalez - RHP

It was less than a year ago that Rodriguez was struggling with the Double-A Bowie Baysox, with his slump likely playing into Baltimore's willingness to trade him to Boston for Andrew Miller.

The change of scenery, of course, did wonders. Rodriguez dominated in Double-A Portland in the second half of 2014, blew through Triple-A Pawtucket in the first few months of 2015, and now finds himself with 15 excellent major league innings--and two wins--to his name.

For Rodriguez, it's easy to imagine this being the most meaningful of his starts yet. No doubt the first start of any player's career is special in a way that no other game can match, but the Orioles sent him away for half a season of a reliever, no matter how good of one, and given the circumstances surrounding that trade, if you can't say the Orioles gave up on him, they probably at least had their doubts. Going up 1-0 on them would certainly be a different kind of special.

Rodriguez will have Brock Holt in right behind him. Boston's utility man is back on a hot streak, leading John Farrell to find spots for him for four straight games now. He'll bat second, with the slumping Mookie Betts falling all the way to eighth.

First pitch is at 7:05 p.m. ET with broadcasts on NESN and WEEI.