clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Red Sox vs. Rays lineups: Xander Bogaerts, Mike Napoli sit against Chris Archer

Xander Bogaerts and Mike Napoli are out of the lineup Tuesday night, making way for Brock Holt and Daniel Nava respectively.

Elsa/Getty Images

The Brock Holt rotation continues Tuesday night as Boston's super-utility man gets a start at shortstop in place of Xander Bogaerts. He'll be joined by Daniel Nava, taking over at first for Mike Napoli as the Sox face off against the Tampa Bay Rays for the first time in 2015.

Boston Red Sox (8-5)

  1. Mookie Betts, CF
  2. Dustin Pedroia, 2B
  3. David Ortiz, DH
  4. Hanley Ramirez, LF
  5. Pablo Sandoval, 3B
  6. Daniel Nava, 1B
  7. Shane Victorino, RF
  8. Brock Holt, SS
  9. Ryan Hanigan, C

Starting Pitcher -- Wade Miley

Tampa Bay Rays (6-7)

  1. Brandon Guyer, LF
  2. Steven Souza Jr., RF
  3. Logan Forsythe, 1B
  4. Evan Longoria, 3B
  5. Desmond Jennings, CF
  6. Tim Beckham, SS
  7. Rene Rivera, DH
  8. Ryan Brett, 2B
  9. Bobby Wilson, C

Starting Pitcher -- Chris Archer

This might well be the least impressive lineup the Red Sox have fielded this year, at least in terms of personnel, and it doesn't come at a great time given that Chris Archer is starting for Tampa Bay. Archer is coming off a strong season, and is off to as good a start as he could hope for in 2015. The Rays rotation is not what it once was, but there's still some talent at the top, with Archer the headliner.

Tampa Bay might need everything he can give them on the mound, though. The last time the Rays won was Archer's start against Toronto, in no small part because they have scored seven runs in getting swept by New York in Tropicana. They only managed four behind Archer, for that matter. They're last in the A.L. East in terms of runs scored, and while they managed to win some low-scoring games against Miami and Toronto early on, the Red Sox are hoping to provide a different challenge.

Of course, they're also hoping Wade Miley won't light any fire in their bats the way he did the Nationals'.

First pitch is at 7:10 p.m. ET with broadcasts on NESN and WEEI.