clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

MLB Awards: Jake Peavy unanimous NL Cy Young winner

New, comments

The San Diego Padres' ace pitcher, Jake Peavy, was the unanimous choice for the NL Cy Young award, netting all 32 first-place votes. Peavy also achieved the triple crown, leading the NL in Wins, Strikeouts, and ERA. He went 19-6 with a 2.54 ERA and 240 strikeouts. Interestingly enough, Peavy joined Roger Clemens as the only starting pitchers to win a Cy Young Award without tossing a complete game.

Sinkerballer Brandon Webb of the Arizona Diamondbacks was a distant runner-up. He was listed second on 31 ballots and third on one. Webb was last year's NL Cy Young winner.

Congratulations to Jake Peavy on a terrific season from Over The Monster

Jake Peavy, 2007 NL Cy Young winner
Photo courtesy of