clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLB Awards: C.C. Sabathia wins A.L. Cy Young

C.C. Sabathia won the AL Cy Young award in convincing style today, taking 19 of the 28 first-place votes and finishing with 119 points.

Boston's own Josh Beckett finished with 86 points, receiving 8 first-place votes. John Lackey received the remaining first-place vote and finished third overall. The voting took place before the post-season began.

I honestly thought that the it would be a closer race between C.C. and Josh, but both aces were phenomenal during the regular season and you can't fault either choice.

Congratulations to Cleveland's C.C. Sabathia, on behalf of Over the Monster, for winning the Cy Young and for a fantastic season.

C.C. Sabathia, 2007 Cy Young award-winner
Image courtesy of Sports Illustrated