clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLB Awards: Rookie of the Year Open Thread

Update [2007-11-13 14:57:0 by SoxDevil]:Congratulations to Dustin Pedroia for winning the AL Rookie of the Year award! Scrappy Doo won the award in dramatic fashion, nabbing 24 of the 28 first-place votes and finishing with 135 points. After an abysmal April, he was a spark-plug for the Red Sox and became a fan-favorite with his all-out playing style.

Tampa Bay's Delmon Young was second in the AL, finishing with 4 first-place votes and 56 points.

Source unknown

In a much closer race, Ryan Braun, the Hebrew Hammer (how do you like THAT, Mel?), took home the NL Rookie of the Year hardware. Braun barely edged out Troy Tulowitzski, winning 17 first-place votes with 128 points, compared to Tulo's 15 first-place votes and 126 points. It was the closest race since 1980.

Braun had a remarkable season, leading the NL with a whopping .634 slugging percentage and breaking the Major League rookie record set by Mark McGwire. He batted .324 and led NL rookies with 34 home runs. Braun also drove in 97 runs, stole 15 bases, and nearly single-handedly propelled my fantasy baseball team to greatness. Imagine if Braun had played a full season!

Congratulations to both NL rookies on fantastic seasons.

At 2 p.m. eastern time the MLB will announce the 2007 award winners for American League and National League Rookie of the Year. Here's an open thread if you wish to discuss what goes down.

Dustin Pedroia and Ryan Braun are favored to win. But we all know what happens to the ones who are favored: they win. Like the Sox in 2007. Just had to throw that out there...