clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rice falls short again

Cal Ripken Jr. (98.5% of ballots) and Tony Gwynn (97.6%) were elected to the Hall of Fame today but Jim "Ed" Rice again fell short, gathering 346 votes or 63.5% of total ballots cast. (No justice, no peace.) Goose Gossage came painfully close again, too, falling 4.8 percentage points shy. (That's gotta hurt.) Mark McGwire didn't make it in this time, either. But seeing as he's not one to talk about the past, it's probably not bothering him too much.

There is good news. You and I received as many Hall votes today as Scott Brosius, Wally Joyner, Devon White and Bobby Witt. Nice work!